Wallingford-back mine was the largest mine in North America until a more profitable mine site was found elsewhere in Ontario. The mine is made up of mostly Feldspath. This mine is one of the most popular mines explored in the surrounding capital regions.
Please note that we do not own the mine. The mine is NOT a tourist attraction therefore there is no operational time as its an abandoned site.
In winter the mine was accessible by snow-shoe, cross country ski and hiking trails as the roads can be extremely dangerous. Visitors came to this stunning site during the winter to skate on the frozen interior of the mine, a miraculously impressive image.
In the summer months visitors came to the mine to hike, swim, rock climb, scuba dive and even zip line with their own equipment. No tools were required to explore this mine; however, a small boat was needed to explore some of the lower parts. The water is a beautiful blue and practically crystal clear.
The mine is threaten to be destroyed by 2017, depending on the upcoming vote by local authorities.
"Mr. Wallingford sold the rights to the site to the Canadian Flint and Spar company for $12,000. The company began exploiting the mine in 1924 before being acquired by Consolidated Feldspar in 1939, and acquired again by the International Minerals and Chemical Corporation later on. With all of the buying and rebuying, the mine eventually grew to be the largest mine in North America, pulling an estimated 225,000 tons of feldspar and 150,000 tons of quartz from the ground. The site was mined for its precious minerals continuously until 1972, when it was finally closed, leaving behind a series of pits, caverns, and holes to be retaken by nature."
Cottage with outcrop discovered by prospecting in 1924.
In 1924-1930, O'BRIEN & FOWLER - Opening of the mine operation.
In 1937-55, CANADIAN FLINT & SPAR - Reopening of the mine operation.
In 1955, INTERNATIONAL MINERALS & CHEMICALS - Operation.
Now the mine sits abandoned for decades.